A Very Warm Hat

The Pontiff isn’t big on handknit hats, because they’re “not warm enough”.  But he has been wearing the double-knit hat I made for him. With the brim turned up, it’s 4 layers thick. I figured I’d try again with something else, though.

Enter Elizabeth Zimmermann’s “Very Warm Hat”.  Two layers of stranded knitting over the ears.

Very Warm Hat, patterned side

I figured he probably wouldn’t be interested in having a pattern on it, so I only stranded one side, and left the other plain. That way he could choose… and as I thought, he prefers the plain side out. But he does admit that it is, indeed, a very warm hat.

Very Warm Larry

Pattern: Very Warm Hat, by Elizabeth Zimmermann
Yarn: Patons Classic Wool (blue), and Cascade 220 Heathers (brown)
Needles: US 6/4mm
Ravelry: Project page

I told him it needed the stranding for the extra warmth. He asked if I could just use two balls of the same color for the stranded pattern. Sigh. Now I guess I’ll have to look into twined (“two end”) knitting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Very Warm Hat

  1. Monica says:

    I love it! He looks cute in it, too. 🙂

  2. Carrie#K says:

    Very cool warm hat! I bet he turns it patterned side out when he leaves the house. 😉

  3. Cookie says:

    At least, he knows what he likes? 😕 Lovely hat, sweetie.

  4. Carole says:

    Great hat. Tell Larry to just be appreciative, damn it.

  5. zeneedle says:

    What Carole said! The other side is so cool and the color would look good with his eyes.

  6. Stacey says:

    Hahahah. Love the same color idea. Sounds like something Texas would say. Although one day, I will knit a technicolor hat for him. He’ll wear it because I made it, but he’ll hate every minute.

  7. kitten says:

    Where did all his hair go? lol
    Tell him the patterning on the inside keeps you interested so he’ll have to accept that there is another color in it.

  8. Chris says:

    It looks good on him. And I like kitten’s comment. 🙂

  9. Heather says:

    How would you even strand two of the same color? Although you woudn’t have to worry about messing up the pattern…

  10. Kym says:

    Love the hat — both sides! (And he does look kind of adorable wearing it.)

  11. jill says:

    It looks very manly – either way. *shakes head, muttering, “men”

  12. redsilvia says:

    Clearly you need to choose a more Pontiff like pattern for that side…um…motorcyles? Beers? Um monkeys? I don’t know…but I do know it looks good on both sides. 😉

Leave a comment