Spring into Summer

I meant to take a photo of the front garden last week when the pink and white poppies were in bloom, but things have just been too busy around here. The pink poppies are all done, and the white ones (barely visible at the top in the next photo) have just a few petals left. Too bad, because they were a lovely backdrop for the roses and salvia.

Garden Flowers June 2013

The pink rose bush is one of those little mini rose plants you see in the grocery stores, especially around Mother’s Day. It’s done tremendously well since I planted it a couple of years ago. I’m glad I ignored the Pontiff’s directive not to plant any roses, since they give me lots of bloom throughout the summer. They’re not in an area where he has to worry about the thorns, though, so he hasn’t really minded.

Garden flowers June 2013

The white rose bush in the photo above is a white “Flower Carpet” rose. It’s a low-growing, mounding shrub that flowers profusely, and is fairly drought tolerant. It was one of the first things I planted after I ripped out the lawn to make a low-water garden. Like the mini-rose, it’s very low maintenance. In the spring, I just prune out any winter-killed branches and call it done.

And just look at the lovely flowers – they’re small, only 2 to 3 inches across, but quite pretty:

Flower carpet rose

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring into Summer

  1. zeneedle says:

    Your front garden always looks so good. The roses add “carpets” of color.

  2. kitten says:

    Lovely! When I finally get out of this desert I’m going to have you come and plan my garden for me.

  3. Suzanne says:

    Those roses are gorgeous!

  4. Susan says:

    I love your yard, it is so beautiful! You have done a wonderful job selecting plants.

  5. jill says:

    I love roses, thorns be damned! We need more yard as each spring I bring at least one new rosé home. This year we bought a Fourth of July climber. We need more white, however. Yours is lovely!

  6. Carole says:

    Your garden is looking lovely!

  7. Kym says:

    Just beautiful! I love poppies so much . . . but they’re awfully quick! Sometimes it’s hard to get a photo before they’re gone (but so worth having in the garden!)

Leave a comment