Sweater Storage

After some unfortunate issues with carpet beetles, I decided that I needed better protection for my hand-knit sweaters. (Fortunately, moths aren’t a huge problem here.)

I finally settled on these Household Essentials Sweater Bags as my go-to sweater bags:

Sweater Bags

I like them because they have fabric for breath-ability, plastic for visibility, zippers to keep the critters out, and are pretty inexpensive. Big wins all around.

Each bag holds two to three of my hand-knit sweaters. For thin commercial sweaters (like twin-set cardigans), they could probably hold at least four, and maybe even six. I was even able to fit two of my husband’s aran-weight sweaters into one bag by rolling them instead of folding them.

The only thing I would change about them would be to have the plastic on the long sides instead of the short sides – only because to fit them on a standard closet shelf without hanging a little over the edge, you need to put them so that the long side faces out, and then you can’t look into the bags from the side. For shelves where it doesn’t matter if they hang a few inches over the edge, though, you can put them with the short side facing out. (They’re about 12.5 inches wide, by 16 inches long, by 4 inches deep.)

Here you can see them on a shelf – the ones on the left are put lengthwise on the shelf, and the ones on the right are crosswise with the short end out:

Sweater bags on shelf

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sweater Storage

  1. kitten says:

    Nice! I just found a carpet beetle in my house today. 😞

  2. Monica says:

    Those are great! I use totes to keep mine in. My dog furry house is very carpet beetle friendly.

  3. zeneedle says:

    Protecting our beautiful hand knits is key to long life. This is a great storage container and they’ll fit my shelves perfectly!

  4. jill says:

    Very nice, indeed. Would they fit under the bed?

  5. Susan says:

    Great idea. I love that they have fabric for breath-ability.

  6. Cookie says:

    Love the idea, but, yeah, there needs to be a bit of a re-design with that one.

Leave a comment