Traveling Buds

This is the back of my Traveling Buds cardigan. I’m pretty happy with how it’s turning out, but I do have a small issue, and a question that maybe one of you can answer.

travelingbud-w2

I have about 10″ done, and I let it soak for a while and then laid it out to dry, so I could see if I needed to make any size adjustments.

When I did my gauge swatches, the US8/5mm needles (used in the pattern, as well as the recommended size for the yarn) gave me fabric that was a little too loose, and although pretty close to gauge, it grew a bit when washed. My second swatch, with US 7/4.5mm needles was a little too tight, but after washing was pretty close to gauge. I decided to stick with the smaller needles, since I could block the wool out a bit bigger if necessary.

After giving my work-in-progress a bath, it has turned out a wee bit smaller than I was planning. I can adjust for it when making the front pieces, and I have also added a stitch at each edge at about where I would increase for the bust if I were doing normal waist shaping.

I’m sure it will work out fine, but here’s where the question comes in.

Somewhere in the dusty recesses of my mind, I seem to remember a trick for adding a small bit of width to a knitted piece, which involved dropping a stitch down to the cast-on (or perhaps just above it), and then somehow using a separate piece of yarn to knit back up the ladder – putting 2 or 3 columns in place of the 1 original one. It was a tip that came from a well-known designer. I want to say Lily Chin, but I’m not sure.

I actually tried doing that, and ripped one stitch down to the ribbing… but then I couldn’t figure out how to work another piece of yarn back up. I tried using a crochet hook to run a chain up the ladder, working the new yarn over each ladder “rung”, and it sort of worked – but it left a ridge of yarn along the side of the new stitches. It wasn’t extremely noticeable to the eye on the knit side, but you could feel it, and you could see it on the purl side (which is the right side in this case).

Has anyone ever heard of a trick like this? It’s always possible that I just dreamed it. I have a strange history of occasionally remembering dreams as if they actually happened. o.O

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Traveling Buds

  1. margene says:

    As you might have guessed, I have no clue how to do that particular technique. It sounds intriguing, however. Swatches lie….there’s no way around it, but they must be done, nonetheless. Good luck!

  2. Chris says:

    Wow, that sounds amazingly complicated… good luck!

  3. Vicki says:

    I had a dream as a young girl that I believed for many years to have actually happened. When I remember it, it still seems more real than not — ’til my brain kicks in, I guess.

    That technique is wild and if it is real, I vote for Lily Chin! I’d think that would be done near the edges, where any weirdness would be less noticeable, and perhaps another soak and block would minimize it even further? It would definitely take some practice getting (and keeping) the tension just so. Very intriguing. Also, perhaps that’s something that you wouldn’t necessarily do over more than just a few inches — the added stitches would then be worked as usual going forward?

    • Cheryl says:

      I’ve had a couple of those dreams. Even today, they still seem ‘real’. It’s very strange.

      I’m pretty sure the technique was only meant for increasing a few stitches over the entire sweater, so perhaps just dropping one stitch at each edge. The way I did it actually didn’t look too bad from the knitted side – even dropping down the 8″ I did as a test. Tension didn’t seem to be much of an issue – I used a hook that matched the needle size well, but I think it helped that it was a wool yarn, and not something really smooth.

      I think it would probably work to gain an extra stitch or two at each edge without being too noticeable (probably less noticeable than a seam), but I decided that I didn’t really need to do that anyway for this particular piece. It would be nice to find out if I really did read this somewhere, or if I just dreamed it up.

  4. kitten says:

    I wonder if you drop one stitch and add two or three with a smaller needle. I wonder if the stitches you added were too fat for the space and they might have fit better if you’d used a smaller hook?

    • Cheryl says:

      It wasn’t a problem of the stitches not fitting – it was just that I couldn’t figure out how to work in a new strand of yarn over the ladders without leaving an extra strand running up one edge. But maybe that’s the only way it can be done. It didn’t look too bad, I just decided I didn’t really need to do it. Mostly I’m just curious as to whether anyone else has heard of doing this.

  5. Heather says:

    I always enjoy the IDEA of a fiddly new technique more than the actual application of it myself.

    Unsurprisingly, never heard of it.

Leave a Reply

