And That’s When I Ran Out of Pins

Half a dozen from the end of the shawl. Well, I didn’t actually run out completely, just out of the pins in my pin storage box. I still had several unopened packets of T-pins. Thank goodness.

Holbrook shawl

I was just going to use blocking wires, but then you wouldn’t see all the pretty eyelets at the border. I actually used wires first to shape the bottom, then pinned out the eyelets and removed the wires. I only had to remove the wires because I had threaded them through the eyelets, and I couldn’t pin out the eyelets properly. If I’d run them through the faggoting at the edge of the border instead, then I could have just pinned out the eyelets, but left the wires in place.

Holbrook shawl

And speaking of the faggoting, I had to drop down the stitches of the inside faggoting section twice because I got my yarnovers in the wrong place. That was not fun. But the first time it was at the center of the shawl, so it was pretty noticeable, and I knew it would keep bugging me. Unfortunately, it was a LOT of rows down from where I was (at least 20). It took a long time to fix. The second time was closer to the end, and only about 8 or 10 rows down.

Project: Holbrook Shawl.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And That’s When I Ran Out of Pins

  1. Cookie says:

    You are so good! It’s lovely and I think doing the blocking the right way will show it off all the more. I hate dropping down but some times we just have to. Well done!

  2. redsilvia says:

    It’s gorgeous! Nice work fixing the stuff that would irk you. Also, if I ever run out of t-pins (I have about 20) I’ll call you 😉

  3. Carole says:

    That is a LOT of pins and must have taken a long time – worth it, though, for that perfect shape.

  4. Chris says:

    It’s gorgeous! And glad you had more pins. 🙂

  5. zeneedle says:

    You must have been up until midnight to get it finished. Beautiful! and SO worth your extra effort to make it right!

  6. Marilyn says:

    Blocking is what makes lace, well, lace. Beautiful job! So glad you had extra unopened pins. 🙂

  7. Bonny says:

    My grandmother always used to tell me, “If you don’t have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?” but it’s quite evident that you’ve taken the time to do it ALL right, from the knitting to the blocking. Gorgeous!

  8. Wow. It’s stunning.

  9. pacalaga says:

    Oh my gosh, that’s gorgeous. And also a good reminder that I will need boatloads more pins when I block my shawl…

Leave a Reply

