Only Continental Knitters Need Apply

What do you do when you’re faced with ripping and reknitting a large part of a project*?

I know what I’d do. Toss it in the corner and cast on for something else.

Gap-tastic Cowl

This is the Gap-tastic Cowl. All seed stitch, all the time.

No problem at all for us Continental knitters, but I’m sure all of you “throwers” are cringing in horror.

*Since I know someone will ask… I have major size issues with my cardigan (which seem to be mostly gauge-related). I hoped that setting in the sleeves would help with the upper body fit, but it didn’t. So now I’m going to undo all of the seams, rip the back section down to the waist, and rework it. If that appears to go OK, I’ll probably still have to rip the front pieces down to the beginning of the armholes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Only Continental Knitters Need Apply

  1. Chris says:

    Seed stitch rocks with continental! Actually, I esp love seed stitch in the round – I do “lazy purling” and untwist it with the knit on the next round. Makes it really hard to mess up the stitch pattern.

  2. Monica says:

    I love the gaptastic cowl! I also love seed stitch, being another continental knitter. But after knitting twenty-ten, I’m taking a break from it for a good while!

  3. Heather says:

    like it!

  4. Anne says:

    I throw. I like seed stitch. Am I even allowed to comment now that you know that?

  5. margene says:

    I may be the only thrower who isn’t thrilled to knit seed stitch. The texture is so beautiful it’s worth it for small areas, at times. You made no mention of your cardi issues last night. I should have known something was up!

  6. Rachel says:

    I love the purl especially when knitting stockinette in long long rows of stitches!
    I have my own version of continental. The Gap-tastic Cowl is in my plans for Christmas knitting,,,

  7. Lucy says:

    I’m all ready to learn continental as soon as someone develops a purl stitch that doesn’t require so much wrist or finger motion. But til then, you’re right, a seed stitch project does make me cringe.

  8. Kitten says:

    I knit continental and I don’t really like it, though I love the look. I just dislike the back and forth, particularly since the way I purl includes an extra tug to snug up the stitch.

  9. Cookie says:

    Sometimes we need an easy win while hiding from a troublesome project. ;^)

  10. Vicki says:

    I’m cringing! It’ll look lovely, though. Sorry to hear about your cardi problems — a little time out is appropriate.
    ; )

  11. jill says:

    It’s painful to even read your postscript. Oy! I think I’d get a little heavy handed with the vino before I began such a task. But a woman with your skill and talent can do anything!

  12. CaroleP (ohio says:

    I’ve been picking all my life, and have never even tried throwing. It looks like so much more work!!!
    And I know it’s faster (I didn’t say I was fast, just that the method was)! The only problem is knowing if a pattern is written by one or the other – I’ll get caught up knowing “front loop from back loop”. Or, is that just my problem?
    The first thing I do when I find a mistake is see if I can just rip back 3 or 4 stitches involved to the row. Use double pointed needles to rework it, and smile all the way back up. It doesn’t happen that often though. Let us know what you decide, and where is a picture of the cardigan? please? Good luck!

  13. Carrie#K says:

    Bad cardigan.

    How do you hold your yarn purling? On the German Short row video, she’s holding it up with her index finger. I hold it down.

    BTW, German short row rocks.

Leave a comment