FO: Linen Wrap

I thought it would be a nice idea to have some sort of light-weight shoulder wrap to wear when I’m wearing sleeveless dresses.

While on my last vacation, I saw a wrap in a store display that was pretty much just a rectangular piece of stockinette fabric, folded and seamed partway together. It seemed simple enough, and the new Shibui Knits Linen yarn looked like it would be a great choice to make it in.

I didn’t see the one in the store on anything other than the hanger, so I don’t know how close mine looks to that one, but I’m happy with how it turned out.

Linen Wrap

I made a swatch with the yarn, and then calculated an approximate number of square inches per gram of yarn, to see if I could make the size I had in mind with 2 skeins of yarn. It looked like I would just make it, and fortunately, the swatch didn’t lie this time. I had only a couple of yards of yarn left.

Linen Wrap

If I made another one, it would be easy to make it without the seam in the back, now that I have an idea of what measurements are needed. But I’m fine with the seam, so all is well. Now I just need a place to wear it.

Linen Wrap

The yarn has fantastic drape after it’s been washed, and it’s so nice and light-weight. It wasn’t much fun to knit with, though. Besides feeling a bit harsh, the cable ply is easy to snag. Sharp, pointy needles are not your friends. When I was swatching, my Hiya Hiya needles were much easier to use than the sharper KnitPicks ones, but I ended up having to use the KnitPicks needles anyway, because I didn’t have Hiya Hiya needles in the right size.

Project details here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to FO: Linen Wrap

  1. zeneedle says:

    The wrap is so elegant and stylish. It can be worn over anything, including nice jeans and t-shirt. You were so right about this on every level. Nicely done!!

  2. jill says:

    Cheryl! That is beautiful and you look beautiful in it! Will you be writing this up for others to follow??

  3. vicki says:

    Very pretty… and you look like you’re on your way to someplace special.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    The wrap is very elegant especially with the simple black dress. You need to find a date.

  5. redsilvia says:

    Very pretty! It would work with jeans too, so don’t think of it as special occasion only. Right?

    Still giggling about those braided tulip leaves. 🙂

  6. Nora says:

    Just beautiful, Cheryl! Wow! I love the way it looks in the back.

  7. Chris says:

    Very elegant!

  8. That came out SO great! I think an early morning brunch at Silver Fork would be a great place to wear it. 🙂

  9. Rachel says:

    Beautiful, both you and the wrap. Very elegant indeed.

  10. Kitten says:

    Is that…a poncho? (It’s pretty.)

  11. Deidre says:

    Love this, its looks so graceful on you.

  12. Cookie says:

    Fabulous!
    The wrap is nice, too.

  13. Marilyn says:

    Nice. Very pretty!

  14. I have a pile of linen just waiting for me to do something with it … 🙂

  15. Stacey says:

    That wrap will go with everything! I may need one for shopping.

  16. Robby says:

    I love your creation! So simple and so elegant. Alas, I doubt I would have many places to wear one, but a girl can dream….

Leave a comment