FO: Stripe Study

More stripes! But I think I’m pretty much striped out for now.

Once again, I braved high temperatures to model a shawl for you. At least this time, it was linen instead of wool. Good thing, since it was 102 when this photo was taken.

Stripe Study Shawl

Pattern: Stripe Study Shawl, by Veera Välimäki
Yarn: Shibui Knits Linen, in “Tar” and “Ash”, 2 skeins each
Needles: US 6/4.0mm

Ravelry project here.

Modifications: Used kfb increases for the increases at the edges (but not at the spine).

Stripe Study Shawl

The linen has lovely drape, but I did have a lot of trouble with one skein of the yarn. The yarn is made up of a single strand of linen thread, which is formed into a chain. One of the skeins had numerous sections where the chain wasn’t properly formed, and the “yarn” was just a couple of thin strands instead of a chain. Some of those sections were several feet long, and I had to cut them out.  Joining and weaving in ends with this yarn is no picnic, so it was a bit frustrating. Fortunately, it was the last skein of yarn that had the problem.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FO: Stripe Study

  1. Carole says:

    That is beautiful and the colors are great – I bet you will reach for it over and over again.

  2. zeneedle says:

    Very beautiful and a great size, despite being bigger than you imagined. The linen will be good protection from overzealous a/c during the summer months.

  3. caityrosey says:

    What a good idea to knit it in linen. Wasn’t it originally in wool?

  4. Chris says:

    Nice!! You do look slightly wilted in this photo… not that I blame you at all. 😀

  5. jill says:

    It’s really nice, Cheryl. You look great in it.

  6. Cookie says:

    You really are too good to us. It’s lovely, sweetie, and I hope you took it off as soon as you could. ;^)

  7. Heather says:

    I love the drape and that color! You are going to get a lot of wear out of that in the fall I think!

  8. vicki says:

    Oh, it’s just lovely! I love the size and the drape is very nice. I’m also a huge fan of gray and black right now, so “Tar” and “Ash” are right up my alley, too!

  9. Laurie says:

    That is really nice. Cannot believe the loss of sanity for the modeling. *whew*

Leave a comment