Cheers!

Did you know that cocktail glasses (for drinks served chilled, but without ice) originally were designed to hold only about 3 to 6 ounces? Like everything else that has been supersized in the U.S., most are now 7 to 12 ounces. Old Fashioned glasses, or “rocks” glasses, for drinks served with ice, have likewise doubled – from around 6 ounces to 12.

When I have a cocktail, I’m usually using a fairly standard bar recipe which rarely makes more than 3 to 4 oz of liquid. Why stick that in a big, oversized glass? It just looks silly. Even when I make something on the rocks, it rarely takes up half of a standard Old Fashioned glass.

I’ve read a few articles lately about why smaller glasses are better for your drinks.

For my birthday present to myself, I decided to buy a few small, vintage cocktail glasses. I settled on these Fostoria “liquor/cocktail” glasses in the “Holly” pattern. They’re just over 5″ tall, and just barely hold 3 ounces.

Cocktail Glass

So sweet! I love them dearly. I only bought four, but I might have to get some more. Maybe even some of the small water goblets or juice glasses for a slightly larger drink or for the “rocks” drinks.

I also have a single vintage cocktail glass that my ex-MIL gave me, but I have no idea who the maker is. It looks sort of like the Fostoria “Wheat” pattern, but isn’t. If I can find out what it is, I might have to get a few of these, too.

Unknown vintage glass

If I have a hard time finding the Holly pattern glasses, I guess I could just have a variety of vintage glasses, and guests can choose their own pattern. At least they’d know which glass was theirs.

They make me feel all Nick and Nora.

Nick and Nora

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cheers!

  1. kitten says:

    I gotta say, wrt cocktails, I’m a fan of super-sizing. 😉 (In fact, I generally mix up a vodka tonic in a British pint glass.)

  2. zeneedle says:

    I love the look of your new glasses! Nicely done.
    You know our predilection for small glasses, as you’ve had drinks in them many times. I feel virtuous drinking from the smaller glasses (even if I have 3 or 4 a night). 🙂

  3. Carole says:

    Those are awesome and I think smaller cocktail glasses are a smart idea for many reasons. Happy Birthday to you!

  4. vicki says:

    My mother has a large collection of pressed glass water goblets — all different patterns — and they look so wonderful together when the table’s all set. I have a couple of favorites. 😉
    Happy Birthday!! Cheers!

  5. Chris says:

    Happy birthday!

    I like your idea of having a selection of styles. 🙂

  6. Susan says:

    Happy Birthday!
    Those are pretty and so you!
    You might be able to find out about you single vintage cocktail glass at http://www.replacements.com/crystal_dentify.htm

  7. Cookie says:

    I’m not surprised. Look what they did to clothing sizes. o.O

    Your glasses are lovely. I hope you can find more. What fun to spend time going to new and interesting places to look for them. (That’s what I tell myself as I look for more small glass bowls to go with the 2 little ones and single serving piece I have.)

    I hope you’re having a fabulous birthday. xo

  8. (Not That) Joan says:

    Happy Birthday! I love your idea about mixing and matching vintage glasses. I did that with teacups and saucers. It looks so cheerful!

  9. jill says:

    You’ll need to put on some lipstick, make a gimlet, and watch a little Mad Men! Happy birthday (late). I hope it was wonderful. Your new glasses are charming! All we have are things with Disney princesses on them .

  10. Brenda says:

    My mom has a bunch of those glasses that she bought when they were new. I can never remember my parents using them—they always looked too fancy for everyday use to me. I’m not sure where she got them—allot of the vintage glassware and serving pieces she has were free with a purchase at either the grocery store or the neighborhood gas station my parents used. I imagine she might have collected the glasses when she gassed up her pink ’58 Buick.

  11. redsilvia says:

    Happy birthday! Many happy days sipping gorgeous little cocktails!

    I adore those glasses, and I hope you have many yummy recipes in the offing to try.

  12. Carrie#K says:

    Happy Birthday! I love the Nick and Nora movies but until I rewatched them all recently, I had no idea how drunk they all were!

  13. Heather says:

    What a great idea!

Leave a comment