An actual finished object

After months of non-knitting, and having nothing to do but chat at my twice-weekly knitting group sessions, I finally figured that it probably wouldn’t do my elbow much harm if I knit for 5 minutes every half hour or so.

Crawling along at snail-speed, at an average of 2 rows per hour, I finally finished up the Mohair Bias Loop. I only had a few inches left to do, so it wasn’t too bad.

Mohair Bias Loop

Mohair Bias Loop

Project notes are here.

With that out of the way, I tried knitting a row on Monica’s Shawl, but the rows are way too long (hundreds of stitches) and have nupps, so that wasn’t a great idea. I guess I’ll have to try picking up Sunset Strip again. Shorter rows, lots of stockinette. As the rows get shorter, maybe I could even do 4 rows per hour. Let’s see… 4 rows per hour, at 4 hours per week = 16 rows per week. That means it should take me, oh, years. But hopefully, it won’t come to that.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An actual finished object

  1. kitten says:

    Perhaps you need a loom to fill up the time with yarniness.

  2. This is just lovely. Bravo!

  3. Chris says:

    That’s perseverance! 🙂

  4. Cookie says:

    I love it! I’m so sorry that you’re still having troubles with the arm. Seeing that yarn, I feel a tiny bit guilty…

  5. margene says:

    Finally! Although it feels a little like we’ve lost a friend as you’re no longer bringing it to knitting. She beautiful, but will be missed. New knitting is always welcome, however.

  6. jill says:

    I’m so sorry your arm is still causing you problems. Your tenacity certainly paid off with this wrap. It’s lovely, Cheryl.

  7. Stacey says:

    I remember how hard it was when I broke my arm. Slow and steady wins the race? I hadn’t been able to knit more than a round in weeks, but my weekend at the lake produced a finished sock. I need to pull out my knitting looms and get some things done. I’m missing the fiber/relaxation aspect of my life.

  8. susan says:

    Ah, yes, a loom!

  9. Monica says:

    That turned out really nice! I especially like how you styled it as a cowl in the last photo. Very chic. I hope your injury disappears soon!

Leave a comment