No-Fuss Grape Pie

One of my favorite pies has always been Concord Grape Pie.

But it’s SO. MUCH. WORK. Every time I spend hours seeding those stupid little grapes, I swear I’ll never do it again.

Enter Trader Joe’s.

The newest Fearless Flyer said they had “Thomcord” grapes – a cross between Concord and Thompson seedless grapes. They taste like Concord, but are seedless. Yahoo! I scooped up two one-pound boxes of these little beauties:

Thomcord Seedless Grapes

A quick taste confirmed that they do, indeed, taste like Concord grapes – though perhaps a bit sweeter.

For the pie, I decided to cut back a little bit on the sugar to compensate for the sweeter grapes, using about 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup for the filling. I considered just mixing the fresh grapes with the rest of the filling ingredients and just dumping it into the pie crust, but then thought better of it. Since grapes are so juicy, I thought it might be better if I cooked them first to reduce the liquid a bit. So I dumped the grapes in a saucepan and squished/chopped them a bit with my pastry cutter. Then I brought them to a simmer and let them cook for about 15 minutes, stirring and smashing occasionally.

 

After the grapes were done, I threw in the butter and remaining filling ingredients, dumped it into the pie shell, sprinkled on the topping, and put it in the oven.

Mmmmm. I’m back in the saddle again.

Grape Pie

I did notice that there were a few small seeds, but they weren’t as hard as normal grape seeds, and weren’t a problem to eat.

You can bet I’ll be looking for Thomcord grapes every year.

Note: I used the two full pounds of grapes for the pie, which is a little more than I usually use, but it definitely wasn’t too much for the 9″ pie. But it would probably be fine with the 4 cups (about 1 1/2 pounds) that I usually use.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No-Fuss Grape Pie

  1. I had never heard of a grape pie! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Chris says:

    I’ve never heard of grape pie, either!

  3. redsilvia says:

    I must join the chorus of “not heard of that” either, but I certainly would eat it up! Pie is delish.

  4. margene says:

    The pie looks SO GOOD! But, I grew up picking, cleaning and canning concord grapes into juice, jelly and sauce. I have no desire to have concord grape pie. sigh

  5. Marilyn says:

    Add me to the “never heard of it before list”! And looking back at your “tedious” methods of taking the seeds out I could see why it probably isn’t a wide spread and popular recipe. So. Much. (TEDIOUS) Work. But I bet it tastes wonderful! And what a pretty color!

  6. pacalaga says:

    I shall try that some time in my life but I just don’t know about those grape skins…

    • Cheryl says:

      The Thomcord grape skins are much thinner than Concord grape skins, and you can’t pop the grapes out of their skins like you can with Concord. The texture of the skin is pretty much like any table grape. Once the pie is cooked, it’s not really much different in texture than something like a cherry pie.

  7. Heather N says:

    I remember several years ago you brought one to SnB. It was really very good, but quite sweet.

  8. vicki says:

    Who knew? Apparently not many of us!! I’ve never heard of grape pie before! I suppose they’re not all that far removed from cherries in shape/size/texture. Interesting!

  9. jill says:

    It looks very yummy. I love all fruit and in dessert form? Perfect.

Leave a comment