Utah Sky Scarf 2012

In which I braved the 24-degree weather with no coat to bring you this photo…

Utah Sky Scarf 2012

Finished!

Pattern: Sky Scarf for the concept, and Lacy Baktus as the scarf pattern
Yarn: A mixture of cobweb-to-laceweight yarns, held triple
Needles: 3.0mm
Ravelry: Project page

Since I had so many different strands of yarns, I carried the unused ones up along the edge. Where I remembered to twist them with whatever yarns were being used, it looked OK, but sometimes I forgot to do that, or it just got a bit loose and looked bumpy. So after I finished the scarf, I took a double strand of the main blue yarn and did a row of single crochet along the top edge to make everything tidy.

Total yardage used was probably around 1600-1700 yards of yarn, guesstimated from the finished weight (about 111 grams).

I’m glad I did this project, but I’m even more glad to have it done. Whew!

So what did the sky look like in 2012? Here’s the full scarf, reading from January on the far right to December on the far left. That strip of very light blue about 1/3 of the way from the left was several days of very pale blue skies we had when the valley was full of smoke from wildfires. The thin dark stripe about 1/3 of the way from the right was the solar eclipse.

Utah Sky Scarf 2012

Happy New Year!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Utah Sky Scarf 2012

  1. Monica says:

    I love it! What an amazing documentation of sky. It’s so pretty!

  2. Carole says:

    I think it’s fantastic, what an amazing representation of your beautiful Utah sky!

  3. Marilyn says:

    So pretty! What a fun way to remember the year. šŸ˜€

  4. Kitten says:

    Lovely! So cool that there are non-weather events represented, too.

  5. Cookie says:

    It’s lovely! I so admire you for sticking it with it.

  6. Kym says:

    Love the tangible, wearable, beautiful journal-of-the-sky! (A quick row of single crochet has saved me from myself many a time. . .)

  7. Stacey says:

    Thanks for taking one for the team. It did turn out lovely. Hope it brings memories every time you wear it.

  8. Rebecca says:

    Lovely! Love our western blue skies!

  9. margene says:

    I love what Stacey said about taking one for the team! You truly rock to be able to stick out 365 days of one row everyday (or almost everyday) and live to tell the tale of the 2012 sky. It’s such a beautiful journal!

  10. Chris says:

    It’s absolutely gorgeous – you really made it work!

  11. Ann says:

    It’s lovely and I too admire your sticking with it.

  12. Heather says:

    What a lovely souvenir of a year! But oh, the ends!

Leave a comment