Big Cables

I’ve been enjoying knitting on the mohair pullover, but was still hungering for cozy winter sweaters. Plus, I knew I wouldn’t finish it before the end of the month. (I do have the front piece done, though!). So on Saturday, I started another big comfy sweater. Ireally hoped I’d have it done by the end of the month. Bulky yarn, big needles, and lots of stockinette in the round. Should be a snap!

Big Cable Pullover

But as usual, life got in the way and I spent three days rebuilding my mother’s computer. Her computer is in much better shape now, but the chances of having this pullover done by the end of the month are pretty slim.

I’m not really sure about the ribbing, though. I’m making the sweater loose-fitting, and the ribbing might pull in a bit too much compared to the rest of the sweater. But if so, I guess I can always cut off the ribbing and re-knit it downward on bigger needles. Or if I don’t like the ribbing at all, I suppose I could do a turned hem. It’s only knitting, right?

If I have enough yarn, I’m also thinking about doing some afterthought pockets.

The pattern has a few issues. Some of it is a little confusing, and the instructions for the neckband are incomplete – it looks like the last half of the paragraph got accidentally deleted. But it won’t be hard to figure out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Big Cables

  1. Carole says:

    You’re a smart cookie and a very experienced knitter – you’ll find a way to make it work!

  2. Chris says:

    I love turned hems on sweaters.

  3. Cookie says:

    Yeah, not so much with the ribbing. To me, ribbing doesn’t that relaxed feel that is so much a part of an over-sized sweater. Of course, that could be just me. Wouldn’t be the first time. ;^) Btw, you’ve got all kinds of time. The world isn’t ending at the end of the month. (Is it? 0.o)

    You’re a fabulous daughter. I wouldn’t rebuild a computer for anyone. *L*

  4. kitten says:

    Lovely sweater! And yeah, I’m not so much for the ribbing at the bottom.

  5. margene says:

    You might be able to stretch the ribbing out enough when blocking that it would be relaxed, but I already know what you’re going to do. The sweater does look fluffy and comfy!
    Finally they’ve worked out our network problems. Have no computer(s) really sucked.

  6. redsilvia says:

    Ooh, it’s super cute and you’ve got about 14 hours of day left…Just kidding. It’ll be done when it’s done and it’s lovely.

Leave a comment