Color Affection – multiple choice!

After doing some swatching with the two colors I was planning to use for Color Affection, I wasn’t sure I liked how big the contrast was between the two colors. If I were using three colors as in the original, the value contrast would probably be good, but with just two, I’m not so sure. I’m thinking that having thick/thin stripes might be a better way to go – more like the pinstripe effect in the Stripe Study shawl.

I had the bright idea of using a photo of a finished shawl and digitally manipulating it to change the colors and play with different ideas for the stripes. I spent a lot of time browsing through projects on Ravelry. The photo that leaped out at me as being a good choice happened to be by someone whose blog I follow, and she did a blog post about it that very day. I asked her if I could use her photo for this purpose and share it on my blog, and she kindly agreed.

So thanks to Susan of the Rainey Sisters, here are my mock-ups. You can see the original photo of Susan’s beautiful shawl (along with her sister Sally’s) and their blog post here. The following photos are, of course, copyright Susan Rainey.

Her first color was close enough to mine that I didn’t bother trying to change it. I did change the other colors to more closely match my darker color, but it’s still a bit lighter than my yarn. I really don’t know much about using photo editing software, so I’m sure there was probably a faster, easier way to do this than how I did it, but it worked well enough.

Version 1 – original stripes, changed to two-tone instead of three colors:

Version 2 – larger stripes on the bottom section:

Version 3 – larger stripes in the center section:

Version 4 – larger stripes in both sections:

I think I’ve decided on my favorite, but what’s yours?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Color Affection – multiple choice!

  1. Cookie says:

    Well, none of it is my style/taste, but I like the last one most. For what’s worth, which isn’t much.

  2. lv2knit says:

    I think I like the top one!

  3. Kitten says:

    I like 1 and 3 best. (Probably #1 best of all.)

  4. zeneedle says:

    Oh my, it’s too hard to choose! Maybe…hmmm, #2?

  5. Carrie#K says:

    Version 4. And for a minute there I thought you had KNIT ALL FOUR of those already!!

  6. luci says:

    The top one seems to have a nice balance, so I choose it. Good luck.

  7. Chris says:

    I can’t decide…

  8. vicki says:

    I like the two-toned, and also fat-bottomed. 😉

  9. Rachel says:

    At first I thought I like 3 the best but after looking at all options a few more times I think I prefer no. 2… or is it 3? I think 2 – it looks more balanced than 3 in three the two edges of the shawl are very different.
    Oh and like Carrie my first thought was: even she couldn’t have knitted so many CA’s so fast 🙂

  10. jill says:

    I like version 1 the best, but they are all terrific.

  11. Lynn in Tucson says:

    Ooooh…interesting balance resulting from #3. (And no, I don’t think the contrast is too great.)

  12. Beautiful, beautiful.

  13. sue o says:

    For what it’s worth if it were me knitting it I would go with version #1. I love the balance and neither color dominates yet they compliment each other.. JMHO!

  14. Susan says:

    Phew, that was a hard decision! But after carefully reviewing all the end products on all the links my original choice of #4 has changed to #1.

  15. Deb in PA says:

    If it’s not too late, I vote for #2. I like the progression.

  16. Laurie says:

    #1, with #4 as second.

  17. Pingback: WIPs | CabledSheep

  18. Pingback: Color Affection / Infection / Addiction | Les prairies du 5ème étage

Leave a comment