Boiled and Baked

Despite the fact that an excellent Bagel shop recently opened within walking distance of my house (local peeps – definitely give it a try), I decided to make my own bagels. I guess having been sick for so long has really made me stir-crazy.

So I mixed and kneaded, and let the bagels rest:

Bagel dough resting

Then I boiled:

Bagels boiling

And baked (dark ones on the left are cinnamon/chocolate-chip):

Bagels cooling

Ahhh.

Sesame Bagel

This is the third time I’ve made them, and so far the best. I think all the recipes I’ve tried have been good. The recipe I used this time was more involved and required a two-day process, but I’m not really sure that’s the main reason. It was also the first time I used barley malt syrup, and I had a better idea of what the dough consistency should be like. I think if I made either of the other two recipes again, they’d be better than they were the first time – and in any case, they were ALL good. I’d have to really compare them all side by side to declare a winner.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Boiled and Baked

  1. Gretchen says:

    Look delicious! I want a bagel! May need to start baking.

  2. Reinhardt is an amazing baker and teacher. And using a sponge to preferment as you did means you’ll have deeper and more complex flavors. Lately I’ve been making breads with 3 and 4 day ferments, and the flavors are amazing. (Be sure to use high quality flours though.)

  3. zeneedle says:

    Oh my! They not only look amazing, but they might be the prettiest bagels I’ve ever seen!

  4. claudia says:

    Well, you must be feeling better to put that effort into baking delicious bagels. Great! I’m down with the flu and lounging on the couch is the extent of my abilities.

  5. Marilyn says:

    Yummy! My mouth is watering!
    Hope you are feeling better…

  6. Chris says:

    They look great. 🙂

  7. kiwiyarns says:

    They look totally professional!!

  8. Kym says:

    WOW! Those look YUM!!!!

Leave a comment